Back from Guatemala!

Posted on March 16, 2011

2


Hi Everyone! I’m back in Montreal after an amazing 2 months in Lake Atitlan, Guatemala.

It is a stunningly beautiful and fascinating destination, but not without its share of challenges. It is very different from any other Latin American destination I have visited, perhaps most notably due to the strong Mayan indigenous presence around the lake. The recent history of the lake region is complex and in many ways sad, the people and region suffering the strains of, first, the civil wars in the 1980’s, then the subsequent influx of tourism and foreign residents, increasing pollution of the lake, and entrenched poverty. There are, however, many positive efforts in play in the region as well including the Mayan Medical Aid clinic Yolaine worked with for the duration of our trip. Other organizations focus on environmental issues, education, promotion of organic farming practices, and cooperative business development.

To really get a feel for the Atitlan region, I really love the photography of Bill Muirhead.

Atitlan is also a Mecca for both foreign and indigenous healers and healing modalities. I made some good friends, took a few workshops, and met some remarkable healers. It is easy to forget that healers need healing too, and I am back feeling regenerated and realigned!

Here are a few of my favorite photos from the trip:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Please note that I am again taking appointments! You can either email me via PierreBlack.com or call me at 514-564-7847. I look forward to seeing you!

Posted in: Uncategorized